HPC Newsletter: 5.12.24

posted in: Newsletter | 0







The 12 Goal league snuck in their first tournament final last Friday for the USPA Western Challenge. Out of the six teams vying for the two finals spots, Brookshire Polo Club made their way to the final with an undefeated record, and La Elina earned their spot in the final by way of a penalty shootout!



La Elina’s Joao Aranha keeps his eye on the ball while riding Poppy

Brookshire Polo Club’s team captain, Toro Ruiz, took advantage of the fresh field in the first chukker and scored 5 unanswered goals on his Best Playing Pony Don Ercole Pili. Ruiz seemed to keep control of the game in the first half, as he scored a total of seven goals while La Elina’s team captain, Pipe Marquez, scored two goals of his own to end the first half trailing 2 to 7.



Brookshire Polo Club’s Toro Ruiz and Machitos Dolca control the ball down the field during the USPA Western Challenge Final

After the teams traded goals in the fourth chukker, La Elina started showcasing their talent in the fifth and sixth chukkers. La Elina scored 4 back to back goals in the fifth chukker to suddenly be within one goal of the lead! But Brookshire Polo Club’s Tommy Alberdi scored his first goal of the game to hold on to his team’s lead of 9 to 7 at the end of the fifth chukker.  After seeing how La Elina came back, Brookshire Polo Club didn’t waste any time in the sixth chukker, with a goal from Quinn Evans and another from Alberdi to regain a 4 goal lead. La Elina did not give up as they finished out the game playing hard, but could only score 2 goals to end the game with Brookshire Polo Club taking home the 11 to 9 win.



Winning team: Brookshire Polo Club
Scott Wood, Tommy Alberdi, Quinn Evans, Toro Ruiz
champagne trophies provided by Champagne Charles Heidsieck


MVP: Toro Ruiz,
champagne trophy provided by Champagne Charles Heidsieck



BPP: Don Ercole Pili, played by Toro Ruiz,
pictured with grooms Jorge Rusi and Luciano Fenocchio





Winners Circle




ProAm: Bayou Bowl

Winning team: C-Bar Thoroughbreds/ YOLO Polo

Hank Stout, Drew Luplow, Jana Conkwright, Nick Cifuni




Jana Conkwright



Hank Stout




2 Goal: Bayou Bender

Winning team: Shoppa’s John Deere

Keaton Wolf, Liz Lary, Teran Smith, David Crea




Christine Agrons, Lucy Bailey



Cliff Vrielink, Teran Smith



Special thank you to our 2024 sponsors!