HPC Newsletter: 4.28.24

posted in: Newsletter | 0







Farish Field at the Houston Polo Club was a great place to enjoy Sunday polo for the Dos Hombres Classic as 3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum took on the Horsegate team at 5pm!



Horsegate’s Marcos Alberdi (in blue), riding LAC Miru Mira, reaches for hook on 3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum Alvaro Ara on Canela


The team in green, 3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum had a strong first chukker with goals from teammates Chris Williams and Jorge Cernadas. Horsegate’s Cesar Ara added on to his team’s 1.5 goal handicap and put their first goal in from the field through the Douglas Elliman goal posts to end the chukker leading 2.5 to 2. 3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum’s Cernadas continued his goal scoring streak in the second chukker with back to back goals, but Horsegate’s Marcos Alberdi responded by carrying the ball from end to end and through the posts on his best playing pony, Trojano, to finish the chukker with Horsegate now trailing 3.5 to 4. 3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum’s Cernadas and Alvaro Ara took command of the third chukker, scoring three unanswered goals between them, ending the first half leading 7 to 3.5.



3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum’s Jorge Cernadas watches his neck shot go through the goal while riding Fantasma

Spectators enjoyed the halftime break as did the players, as they stomped divots and sipped complimentary champagne thanks to American National. The Bill Fick Ford F150 Lightning was on display along with the green Shoppa’s John Deere tractor for people to see. Soon enough, the half time horn sounded and it was time to finish the Dos Hombres Classic!
As the fourth and fifth chukkers played out, 3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum shot multiple times on goal, but were having trouble getting the points on the board. Horsegate’s Ara and Anson Moore pushed to take advantage of the broken plays and were able to get a goal a piece to end the game 5.5 to 7 in favor of 3L Energy Solutions/CW Petroleum.



Winning team: 3L Energy Solutions/ CW Petroleum
Chris Williams, Nick Dunbar, Alvaro Ara, Jorge Cernadas
presented by Sara Arias with Dos Hombres


MVP: Jorge Cernadas,
presented by Sara Arias with Dos Hombres



BPP: Trojano, played by Marcos Alberdi,
pictured with groom Claudio, presented by the Bhatia family with Sydenham Clinic






After three weeks of tournament play, the first 6 Goal final of the season played out on Saturday April 27th! Teams, BTA and Island Time Polo/Plank Companies had met in the first round of bracket games, and after squeaking out overtime wins in each semifinal game, they met each other again in the finals.



Island Time Polo/Plank Companies’ Tommy Alberdi shoots a neck shot to goal on Calixto

The first chukker kicked off with two quick goals from BTA’s Maddie Grant and Harrison Azzaro, however Island Time Polo/Planks Companies’ team captain Tommy Alberdi broke free out of the throw in to put his team on the board. BTA added two more goals on the board from a penalty 1 and off of Azzaro’s mallet, but Alberdi scored his second goal of the game at the chukker ended with BTA leading 4.5 to 2. Alberdi and his teammates got into a rhythm in the second chukker scoring back to back goals, but Azzaro answered with BTA’s fifth goal to end the first half leading 5.5 to 4.



BTA’s Harrison Azzaro (red) on Doobie goes for the hook on Kendall Plank on her best playing pony LAC Melanja

During the third chukker, Azzaro kept BTA’s offensive game going as he traded goals with Island Time Polo/Plank Companies’ Kendall Plank and Alberdi. In the fourth and final chukker, Azzaro scored his sixth goal of the game giving BTA an 8.5 to 6 lead. Both teams played hard throughout the chukker, and Island Time Polo/Plank Companies’ Alberdi scored in the last thirty seconds ending the game with BTA winning 8.5 to 7.



Winning team: BTA
Chrys Beal, Maddie Grant, Harrison Azzaro, KC Krueger


MVP: Maddie Grant



BPP: LAC Melanja, played by Kendall Plank,
pictured with Emily Barry





Winners Circle



6 Goal: Commander’s Cup

Winning team: Piney Woods Polo

Jack Kiely, Drew Luplow, Grace Mudra, Marit Stout

ProAm: Texas Standoff

Winning team: Yolo polo

Marit Stout, Drew Luplow, Eloris Snyder, Marcos Villanueva

2 Goal: DeBoulle Classic

Winning team: DeBoulle

Tammy Beeson, Mark Prinsloo, Liz Lary, Teran Smith

Special thank you to our 2024 sponsors!